Roy Gilbert

A Week In Toledo, OH, On A $100,000 Income

Click here to view original web page at A Week In Toledo, OH, On A $100,000 Income

Welcome to Money Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

This week an engineer working in Industrial Design who makes $100,000 per year and spends some of her money this week on farmers market carrots.

Occupation: Engineer
Industry: Industrial Design
Age: 27
Location: Toledo, OH
Salary: $80,000 + $5-$10,000 of overtime + $5-$10,000 bonus
Paycheck Amount (biweekly): $1,700 after all the 401K, HSA, and all that
Gender Identity: Woman

Monthly Expenses Rent: $915 (I live alone in a one-bedroom converted warehouse apartment downtown) Loans: $0 (I have been driving the same car since I was 16 (bought it used) and I paid off $40,000 in student loans in June!) Renter’s Insurance: $11 Car Insurance: $30 Water: $50 Electricity: $60 Netflix: $12.99 (everyone and their mom mooches) Phone: $50 (venmo my parents) Heath Insurance: $0 (My company covers the monthly cost for medical/dental/vision) HSA: $117/paycheck (My company also contribute $500/year) Savings: $500 (I have $5000 in an emergency fund and the rest I am saving in a high-interest savings account for a new car) Roth IRA: $300 (I will use bonuses to max it out at the end of year) Investments: $300 (This goes into a mutual fund that balances itself. I also contribute $50/month into stocks. I […]

Leave a Reply