Roy Gilbert

Dave Chappelle Receives Mark Twain Prize for American Humor

Click here to view original web page at Dave Chappelle Receives Mark Twain Prize for American Humor

Comedian Dave Chappelle accepts the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor on Oct. 27 at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. The show will air on PBS in January. (Shevry Lassiter/The Washington Informer) On Sunday night, Dave Chappelle, the legendary, no-holds-barred comedian, was awarded the prestigious Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. Gifted with a spirit of perseverance, determination and extreme creative intelligence, the award recognizes Chappelle as one of the world’s greatest humorists.

Bestowed only on a select few, including comedic geniuses Eddie Murphy, David Letterman and the late Richard Pryor (who received the inaugural award), Chappelle emphasized the importance of the genre, while also paying tribute to Pryor, during his award at the Kennedy Center.

In honor of Chappelle’s brilliance and ability to convey more than one thought-provoking message within a single joke, the event brought out a slew of A-list celebrities, all eager to support the clever comedian and his work, including Morgan Freeman, Bradley Cooper, Marlon Wayans, Tiffany Haddish, Kenan Thompson, Q-Tip, Sarah Silverman and “Saturday Night Live” creator Lorne Michaels, who recounted Dave’s 2016 anticipated hosting debut on SNL.

“I knew when the moment came, [Dave would] be ready to perform, yet small doubts about his appearance still lingered until, [he sat down] beside me and everyone in the room and asked if he could read a quote by Toni Morrison,” Michaels reminisced, as he delivered the first official remarks of the night. “This is precisely the time when artists go to work. There […]

Tagged on: , ,

Leave a Reply